Mahler 5 - Hartford Symphony Orchestra

Part of the 2018-2019 Masterworks Series. We conclude our 75th season with Mahler’s epic Symphony No. 5! This pivotal work moves from tragedy to celebration, and its fourth movement, a declaration of love for his wife Alma, is his most renowned composition. Beethoven’s rich “Triple Concerto” features a dynamic interplay between soloists and orchestra, and showcases three of the HSO’s gifted musicians.

Beethoven Concerto for Violin, Violoncello & Piano in C Major, Op. 56, “Triple Concerto”
Mahler Symphony No. 5 in C-sharp minor

Carolyn Kuan conductor
Leonid Sigal HSO concertmaster
Margreet Francis HSO piano
Wendy Warner cello

Maxwell M. & Ruth R. Belding Theater